FAQ

The Canadian Intergovernmental Conference Secretariat (CICS) is a neutral conference support organization which provides the administrative, logistical and technical services required for the planning and conduct of multilateral federal-provincial-territorial or provincial-territorial meetings of First Ministers, Ministers and Deputy Ministers. These meetings are held across Canada. Working with CICS is the best way to ensure the success of your event. We offer a wide range of services that can be tailored to meet your needs, from assisting with venue selection, to conference registration, secure document access and archiving, multi-media support, translation and simultaneous interpretation. With more than 40 years’ experience in planning and supporting intergovernmental conferences, we can help you identify the elements that will suit your event’s particular needs and provide whatever level of support you require before, during and even after your meeting. We look forward to working with you on your next event, whether it is an in-person meeting, a teleconference or a videoconference.
CICS services are available to any federal, provincial or territorial department that organizes an intergovernmental meeting as described above. The host government is responsible for the costs of conference space and hospitality events; CICS covers the cost of most other conference services. CICS is financed by both the Government of Canada (through parliamentary appropriations) and the provinces (through contributions).
Once a city has been selected for the event, one of your first tasks likely will be to find a venue (usually a hotel or congress/convention centre, sometimes a government-managed facility). CICS can help with this first step, to ensure that the venue and meeting spaces you are considering meet the dimensions, layout, availability and other requirements typical of the level and type of meetings supported by CICS.
A number of rooms are required for each meeting. The following table is a guide for the dimensions, locations and renting of rooms for Ministerial and Deputy Ministerial meetings. Additional requirements for other meetings (First Ministers) should be discussed with CICS. Please note that all conference rooms should be secure and allow access 24 hours a day.
Deputy Ministerial Meetings
Room Approximate Size Location Availability
Conference Room 50' x 75' - One full day before start of the conference
CICS On-site Office 20' x 30' As close as possible to the conference room
Delegate Area - Foyer of conference room or separate room
Ministerial Meetings
Room Approximate size Location Availability
Conference Room 50' x 75' - One full day before start of the conference
CICS On-site Office 20' x 30' As close as possible to the conference room
Translator Room 6' x 10' As close as possible to the CICS on-site office
News Release Room 20' x 30' As close as possible to the CICS on site-office
Media Work Room 20' x 30' Away from the conference area
Delegate Area - Foyer of conference room or separate room
To make your first contact with us as productive as possible, please:
  • Read through the list of services provided by the CICS, and make a note of any questions you have;
  • Gather as much information as you can about your meeting, using CICS’ planning checklist.
If your meeting falls within CICS’ mandate, and once you have read about our services and have gathered some basic information about your meeting, you are ready to contact CICS to discuss the support you require. If a date has not been confirmed yet for your event and you would like to enquire about CICS’ availability, be prepared to provide two or three specific dates or a short (one-week) timeframe you are considering, based on the known availability of participants including the chair or co-chairs of the meeting.
To learn more about our services, please contact the Director of Conference Services at 613-995-4328 or consult the “Contact Us” page on this website.
CICS provides its support on a first-come, first-served basis. In order for us to confirm our support and commit resources to your meeting, you will need to provide the following:
  • A confirmed date
  • A confirmed location (city and venue)
  • Your contract with the venue (at least in draft form), which will serve to confirm that the meeting spaces you are reserving satisfy the dimensions, layout, availability and other requirements.
Please note that we unfortunately cannot tentatively or temporarily set aside dates and resources for your event pending confirmation of the above.
Once the Director confirms CICS’ support for your event, a Manager of Conference Services will be assigned to plan, organize, manage and oversee the coordination and delivery of all CICS support services to your event. Moving forward, the Manager is your main point of contact and is responsible for the overall management and supervision of a team of administrative, logistical, technical and language experts assembled according to the needs of your particular meeting.

Have a Question?

Phone: 613-995-2341
Fax: 613-996-6091
E-mail: Info@scics.ca

FAQ

Le Secrétariat des conférences intergouvernementales canadiennes (SCIC) est une organisation neutre qui fournit le soutien administratif, logistique et technique nécessaire pour la planification et la tenue de réunions fédérales-provinciales-territoriales ou provinciales-territoriales de premiers ministres, de ministres ou de sous-ministres partout au Canada. Le meilleur moyen d’assurer le succès de votre rencontre est de travailler avec le SCIC. Nous offrons une vaste gamme de services que nous pouvons adapter à vos besoins, par exemple : soutien pour la sélection du lieu de la réunion; inscription à la conférence; gestion et archivage sécurisés des documents; soutien multimédia; traduction et interprétation simultanée. Fort de plus de 40 ans d’expérience dans la planification et le soutien de conférences intergouvernementales, le SCIC peut vous aider à cerner les éléments qui répondront aux besoins de votre événement et vous offrir l’aide voulue avant, pendant et même après votre réunion. Nous avons hâte de vous aider à organiser votre prochain événement, qu’il s’agisse d’une réunion en personne, d’une téléconférence ou d’une vidéoconférence.
Les services du SCIC sont à la disposition de tout ministère fédéral, provincial ou territorial qui organise une réunion correspondant aux critères susmentionnés. Le gouvernement hôte assume les frais des salles de conférence et des activités entourant la conférence; et de son côté, le SCIC assume les coûts de la plupart des autres services liés à la conférence. Le SCIC est financé à la fois par le gouvernement fédéral (au moyen de crédits parlementaires) et par les provinces (au moyen de contributions).
Une fois la ville hôte choisie, l’une de vos premières tâches consistera probablement à trouver le lieu de la réunion (habituellement un hôtel ou un centre de congrès, parfois une installation gouvernementale). Nous pouvons vous aider à confirmer que le lieu et les salles sont adéquats du point de vue de la dimension, de l’aménagement, de la disponibilité et d’autres exigences typiques des réunions appuyées par le SCIC.
Un certain nombre de salles est nécessaire pour chaque réunion. Le tableau qui suit est une guide concernant les dimensions, l’endroit et la location des salles pour les réunions et ministres et de sous-ministres. Les exigences supplémentaires applicables aux autres réunions (premiers ministres) doivent faire l’objet de discussions avec le SCIC. Veuillez noter que toutes les salles de conférence doivent être sécurisées et accessibles 24 heures sur 24.
Réunions de sous-ministres
Salle Dimensions approximatives Endroit Disponibilité
Salle de conférence 50 pi x 75 pi - Une journée complète avant le début de la conférence
Bureau du SCIC sur place 20 pi x 30 pi Le plus près possible de la salle de conférence
Aire pour les délégués - Le foyer de la salle de conférence ou une pièce distincte
Réunions de ministres
Salle Dimensions approximatives Endroit Disponibilité
Salle de conférence 50 pi x 75 pi - Une journée complète avant le début de la conférence
Bureau du SCIC sur place 20 pi x 30 pi Le plus près possible de la salle de conférence
Bureau du traducteur 6 pi x 10 pi Le plus près possible du bureau du SCIC sur place
Salle du communiqué 20 pi x 30 pi Le plus près possible du bureau du SCIC sur place
Salle de travail des médias 20 pi x 30 pi Loin du secteur de la conférence
Aire pour les délégués - Le foyer de la salle de conférence ou une pièce distincte
De sorte que votre contact initial avec nous soit le plus productif possible, veuillez :
  • consulter la liste des services offerts par le SCIC et noter toutes vos questions;
  • recueillir le plus d’information possible au sujet de votre réunion, en vous inspirant de l’aide-mémoire pour la planification du SCIC.
Une fois que vous avez déterminé que votre réunion est conforme au mandat du SCIC, que vous avez lu sur nos services et que vous avez recueilli des renseignements de base, vous pouvez communiquer avec nous pour discuter du soutien dont vous avez besoin. Si la date de votre événement n’est pas encore confirmée et que vous voulez vous informer de la disponibilité du SCIC, préparez-vous à fournir deux ou trois dates précises ou encore une courte période de temps (une semaine) qui vous conviennent en fonction de la disponibilité des participants, dont le président ou les coprésidents de la réunion.
Pour en apprendre plus sur nos services, veuillez communiquer avec le directeur des Services aux conférences, au 613-995-4328, ou consulter la page “Contactez-nous” de ce site Web.
Le SCIC offre son soutien selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi. Pour que nous puissions confirmer notre soutien et affecter des ressources à votre réunion, vous devrez nous fournir les renseignements suivants :
  • date confirmée;
  • endroit confirmé (ville et lieu);
  • votre contrat avec le lieu de la réunion (au moins une ébauche), qui nous permettra de vérifier si les installations répondent aux exigences concernant les dimensions, l’aménagement, la disponibilité, etc.
Veuillez noter qu’il nous est malheureusement impossible de réserver une date et des ressources pour votre réunion de façon provisoire ou temporaire en attendant la confirmation des éléments susmentionnés.
Une fois que le directeur a confirmé que le SCIC offrira des services dans le cadre de votre événement, un gestionnaire des Services aux conférences reçoit le mandat de planifier, d’organiser, de gérer et de superviser la coordination et la prestation de tous les services de soutien du SCIC. À partir de ce moment, le gestionnaire est votre personne-ressource. C’est lui qui gérera et qui supervisera l’équipe assemblée en fonction des besoins particuliers de votre réunion (personnel administratif, logistique, technique et langagier).

Vous avez une question?

Renseignements généraux : 613-995-2341
Télécopieur : 613-996-6091
Courriel : Info@scics.gc.ca